Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Scrub review

Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Scrub claims to be a ‘triple-action facial polish’ and it contains exfoliant material and  glycolic and salicyclic acid to ‘refine, brighten, and renew’ your skin.

I bought this product from Amazon on a whim when it was half price. I am always very sceptical about the grand claims of skincare products, and as such would have been unwilling to pay £10 for a product I had not already tested, in case I had a reaction to it or it was awful and confined to the ‘cupboard of doom’ under the bathroom sink.

First Impressions:

The packaging is sleek and elegant in a duck egg blue colour. It is mid-range but looks a lot fancier than its price point would suggest. The tube has a capacity of 75ml and as such is a little on the small side when compared to other comparable mid-range items such as St Ives scrubs, which often retail around half the price for 150ml of product.

The smell of the scrub is subtle and citrussy. This is perfectly pleasant, but personally I would have preferred a totally neutral or floral smell. This is not a fault with the product, but rather myself- I hate citrus.

Usage

As with any facial exfoliant, a smallish amount is rubbed in a circular motion around your damp face and then washed off with water. This was easy to do and the scrub was not too ‘gritty’, making this process completely painless.

Results

I’ve used this scrub now for approximately two months. I use it once or twice a week. I used my St Ives scrub every day (probably not recommended but it really worked for my skin) but the Nip+ Fab scrub is much harsher in my opinion and so cannot be used too often.

Immediately after using the scrub my face is quite red, but this quickly goes. My face feels smooth and looks brighter. I have uneven skin tone and personally have not found that it helps with this.

I’m not a dermatologist and daren’t offer skin care guidance but you MUST use SPF face cream or sun cream after using this product. My face got very red and irritated in the sun after using it before I started using SPF after. I can only guess that the acids in it make my skin a little more sensitive for a while. I should add I do not have particularly sensitive, oily, or dry skin.

Overall, it is a perfectly pleasant product but I do not get the hype (is a Kardashian an ambassador?) It has not done wonders for my skin and nor can I use it daily. I am happy enough using up the rest of my tube but I do not think I would pay full price for this product, and I will not be repurchasing. If it ain’t broke don’t fix it- I’m going back to St Ives.

5/10


Leave a Reply

